Hainanese Chicken Rice

(Recipe from the Taste of Asia TMX cookbook)

This is one of my favourite meals ever, so I was pretty excited to make it at home for the first time. The steps you would have to take normally – boiling the whole chicken and then plunging it in ice water so that the flesh is nice and firm, using the stock to make the rice, frying the rice beforehand – tooooo. Many. Steps.

Ingredients

Chinese wine, salt, white pepper and sesame oil for rubbing

1 whole chicken approx 1.5-1.7kg (I was only cooking for two and I don’t have a cleaver to chop a chook up, so I used two chicken marylands instead)

4 cloves garlic (I was a renegade and used 5)

1 spring onion/shallot, chopped in half (I had extra so I used 2 spring onions)

4 slices ginger, peeled

2 eschalots, peeled

1 tbsp oil (I used sunflower)

Salt to taste

400g chicken rice (this ended up being more than enough for four servings)

1-1.5l chicken stock

1-2 pandan leaves (optional, I didn’t bother)

A packet of beansprouts (not actually in the recipe book, but it’s a nice addition to this dish)

Method

  • Mix 1-2 tsp Chinese wine, a little salt and pepper to taste and 1 tsp sesame oil in a small bowl. Rub this all over the chicken (and inside the cavity if it’s whole). Stuff 2 garlic cloves, spring onion/shallot and 2 slices of ginger into the cavity (I ended up placing it in the Varoma dish surrounding the chicken). Set aside.
  • Wash the beansprouts, and place in an even layer on the Varoma tray.
  • Place remaining garlic, ginger, eschalots and oil into the TM bowl, and saute for 2 minutes at Varoma temperature on Reverse + Speed 2.
  • Add rice and saute for 2 minutes at 100 degrees celcius on Reverse + Speed 2.
  • Add about 1tsp of salt to taste (I only used 1/2 a tsp which was fine). Remove rice and pop in the TM basket. Set aside.
  • Place 1L of chicken stock into the TM bowl. Set Varoma dish and tray into position, and steam for 25-45 minutes at Varoma temperature on speed 3 depending on the size of your chicken. I set the timer for 30 minutes for my two marylands.
  • Top up chicken stock to 1L (I didn’t bother opening a new packet of stock, I just added water to the existing liquid which tasted just fine).
  • Place basket of rice (with pandan leaves if you want) into the TM bowl. Return the Varoma dishes to position, and cook for 15 minutes at Varoma temperature on speed 5.
  • Mix 2 tbsp hot water, 3 tsp soy sauce, 1/2 tsp sesame oil and 1/4 tsp sugar, mix well. Spoon over the chicken and beansprouts.
  • Serve chicken, rice and beansprouts with some Hainanese Chilli Dip (recipe here) and Hainanese ginger dip (recipe to come!) and thick black sauce if you want. Doneski!

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Hainanese Chicken Rice

  1. […] chicken rice (TMX recipe here), while great with the accompanying chilli sauce (TMX recipe here)  isn’t complete without […]

  2. Yummm! Thank you for the recipe! I have just made this tonight and posted it on my FB page:

    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Thermo-Amour/290315314451922

    Thumbs up from the family 🙂

Leave a Reply

