Vegetable Stock Concentrate

(Recipe from the Everyday Cooking for Every Family TMX cookbook)

Aaand… buh bye to stock cubes.

Ingredients

200g celery, roughly cut (I bought half a celery)

2 carrots, roughly cut (I used 4 small ones)

1 onion, peeled and halved

1 tomato, halved

1 zucchini, roughly cut

1 clove garlic (I’m a garlic fiend, so I put two cloves in. Sue me.)

1 bay leaf (I only had a dried leaf)

Few leaves basil, sage and rosemary (no one buys a few leaves of herbs. that’s just silly. you can use mixed dried herbs which is much more economical, but since I had some rosemary growing on the balcony I just used that).

1 bunch parsley (I bought a bunch from Coles, but ended up using less than half. so apparently, a bunch is relative.)

150g rock salt

1 tbsp oil

Method

  • Place everything except the salt and oil into the TM bowl, and chop for 10 seconds on speed 6. Gotta tell you though, the bowl gets pretty full!

  • Add the salt and oil. Give it a quick stir, and this is what it looks like. Pretty unappetising huh…

  • Cook for 20 minutes at Varoma temperature on speed 1. I used the little clear cover, but got a little bit concerned at the amount of steam that was being emitted halfway through. It doesn’t actually say in the book, but I ended up tipping the clear cover on it’s side so that steam could escape but didn’t allow any of the stock out onto my ceiling, or, god forbid, MY CLOTHES.
  • Mix by slowly turning the speed dial to speed 6,  then up to speed 9 for 1 minute. This is the result…

  • 1 tablespoon of this equates to one stock cube. I’ve glanced at some other recipes and it seems as if adding a litre of water to 1 tablespoon of stock equates to a litre of stock, but don’t quote me on this yet!
  • Note that the amount of salt used is designed to preserve the stock. If you reduce the salt, the shelf life reduces accordingly. Thought I’d let you know as I’m the kind of person who would read this recipe and automatically cut the salt in half!
  • Also, I ended up scooping tablespoons of stock onto glad wrap squares and making little stock wontons to freeze (so I could just pull one portion out when I needed it.) You don’t have to do this, but I just wasn’t sure how often I’d be using the concentrate, so I thought it best to extend it’s usefulness as much as possible!
Tagged , ,

9 thoughts on “Vegetable Stock Concentrate

  1. […] 2-3 tbsp TM vegetable stock concentrate (recipe here) […]

  2. […] 2 tbsp TM Vegetable Stock Concentrate […]

  3. […] This recipe comes from the Thermomix Forums. You can find it here. It also includes the TMX Stock Concentrate. and for this I followed the recipe here. […]

  4. […] stock (I used a heaped tablespoon of vegetable stock concentrate and 700g of […]

  5. Catie says:

    How long would this keep do you think?

    • ChooTheFat says:

      Hi! My Thermomix consultant said that if you used the full quantity of salt it will keep in the fridge for up to 6 months. I kept single portions in the freezer just in case, but ended up using the lot in about 4 months? I’m on my second batch now!

  6. Laura says:

    You could also put tablespoons of the stock into ice cube trays, and then once frozen pop out the cubes into an airtight container or freezer bag.

  7. […] still have time to make a new batch of veggie stock concentrate and walnut cream, but I’m not doing any coding this weekend 😦 I have just discovered last […]

  8. Helen says:

    I’ve tried many veg stock pastes and this is simple, easy and joyful. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

