Torta Caprese (Flourless Almond Cake)

Can I just say, you won’t regret making this, but HOLY CRAP it’s rich! I’m pretty good at shovelling down my desserts, but even I had to stop after a tiny slice. Hmm, okay, maybe not TINY… let’s go with “smaller-than-usual”. The salted caramel topping I added may or may not have contributed to the sinfulness that is the torta caprese.

Ingredients

250g dark chocolate, chopped (I used Nestle dark chocolate buttons, any good quality cooking chocolate will do)

250g almonds

250g sugar (I brought it down to 170g, you can use caster, raw, or white depending on what’s in your pantry)

150g butter, room temperature, cubed

6 eggs (that’s right. Six.)

1 tbsp baking powder

1tbsp cocoa

Method

  • Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees celcius.
  • Place chocolate into the TMX bowl and grate for 5-10 seconds on speed 8. Set aside.
  • Place almonds into the TMX bowl and mix for 4-6 seconds on speed 6. Add to chocolate.

  • Place remaining ingredients into the TMX bowl and mix for 20 seconds on speed 7.

  • Add chocolate and almonds, continue to mix for 30 seconds on speed 6.
  • Pour mixture into a lightly greased 22-24cm tin (or large spring-form pan), lined with baking paper on the bottom.

  • Bake for approx. 1 hour. Done. I actually had some salted caramel spread from Christmas, so I popped some on top of the cake. A dark chocolate ganache would be pretty yummy too!

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Torta Caprese (Flourless Almond Cake)

  1. […] When I saw the EDC chocolate cake recipe, I nearly had a coronary. What do you mean, no chocolate in the chocolate cake?! Cocoa powder on its own doesn’t count!!! Luckily, the Torta Caprese recipe in the same cookbook was absolutely divine, and that became my fall-back chocolate cake recipe. […]

  2. […] Torte Caprese with Ganache icing for his birthday cake. Again from the EDC. I was scared of this recipe for ages because it looked scary and sophisticated. OMG what an idiot I was. It’s a cake made from real dark chocolate and almond meal and it’s the most beautiful thing ever. Because you mill down your whole almonds into the meal it’s fresh and gorgeous. While the ganache icing (made from chocolate and cream) is just made by throwing everything in the bowl and heating at 50C for 2 minutes or so. No more double boilers! My sister Kate is avoiding gluten so this means she’ll be able to have dessert. […]

  3. […] me a good mud cake. I have already found my absolute favourite chocolate cake recipe so I’m starting to play with different mud cake variations. I found this basic mud cake […]

  4. […] torta caprese is one of my favourite cakes of all time. So when I chanced upon this recipe while looking for […]

Leave a Reply

