Veal Pizzaiola

(Recipe from the Everyday Cooking for Every Family TMX cookbook)

Considering my immense love of one-pot meals, the fact that I can make a meat dish, a side of veggies AND  a sauce in one hit makes me think I may just love the TMX more than my husband.

Although, I must admit to finding the recipe in the book a bit strange, so I jumped on the interweb and realised that there were some errors in the step-by-step process. Tsk tsk, editors.

Ingredients

500g lean veal, cut into thin medallions (I bought veal schnitzel from the butchers)

40g olive oil

Salt to taste

Fresh or dried oregano (I used dried)

Broccoli, broken into florets (or other veggies of your choice. I also used a red capsicum and mushrooms).

2 potatoes, thinly sliced (I overloaded on the veggies, so didn’t bother with the carbs).

1 clove garlic (if you’ve read more than 3-4 entries on this blog you will know that 1 clove really means 4 cloves in my book)

400g tomato puree or a can of diced tomatoes (I got puree)

Pitted black olives (optional, I didn’t bother)

Method

  • Marinate the meat in the oil, salt and oregano for 10 minutes. If you’re following the recipe in the cookbook step by step, you’re likely to use all 40gs of oil here. Don’t. Go with the standard amount you would use to marinate meat. The cookbook doesn’t state the oil split, and you’ll realise later on that you actually need more.
  • Place the veggies (and potatoes if you’re using them) in the Varoma dish (the deep one, for the newbies).

  • Place the marinated meat on the Varoma tray and set aside. (I didn’t follow this step, I didn’t want the oil dripping all over the veggies)
  • Place garlic into the bowl and chop for 3 seconds on speed 7.
  • At this point you’ll realise you need more oil. I used about 30gs.
  • Add the oil to the bowl and saute for 2 minutes at 100 degrees celcius on speed 1.
  • Add the tomato puree, plus salt and olives to taste. Then – while the recipe doesn’t say so – this is the time where you need to place the dish of veggies and tray of meat on top.

  •  Cook for 20-25 minutes at Varoma temperature on Reverse + Speed Soft. 
  • Done.


Side notes – while the sauce was okay, it could have packed a bit more punch. Perhaps adding some chopped capsicum and red onion/shallots to the garlic may have helped? Some fresh chilli? Anchovies? Will experiment a bit more the next time!

Also, while this dish is pretty healthy and tasty, it’s not the most exciting looking dish in the world. So I’d personally avoid serving this to guests, and your family should be kissing your feet because you made something so wholesome and quick just for them rather than worrying about how it looks. Or give them a lecture about how beauty is not just about what’s on the outside, OKAY?

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Veal Pizzaiola

Leave a Reply

