Italian Breadcrumbs

(Recipe adapted from the Everyday Cooking for Every Family TMX cookbook)

Making my own basic breadcrumbs in the TMX is great and all, but I got REALLY excited (Ask everyone that knows me. You mention anything remotely edible and I spin off on my own food axis. It’s a bid sad.) when I saw a recipe for spaghetti with lemon cauliflower and pangrattato  and realised I could  whip my very own Italian breadcrumbs up at home thank-you-very-much!

Ingredients

1 clove garlic (I can’t remember what I ended up using but you can bet your ass it wasn’t just one)

A small bunch of continental parsley

30g whole black pepper

300g stale bread broken into pieces (I used some frozen bread I had in the freezer)

110g parmesan cheese (I had some grated parmesan in the fridge, so I used this rather than a block)

Rind of one lemon (this isn’t actually in the recipe, but it features in other pangrattato recipes I’ve seen and I had a spare lemon so why not)

Method

  • Place garlic, parsley, pepper (and lemon) into the TMX bowl and chop for 10 seconds on speed 7.
  • Add the bread and cheese, and pulverise for 1 minute on speed 7 (because I had the grated cheese, I did the bread for 40 seconds, then added the cheese and blasted the mix for another 20 seconds). Done-zo.

I must say, the smell is AMAZING (largely due to the lemon rind). I’ve frozen most of it and will probably use it to coat some chicken thighs or fish down the line. The same day I made this, I squeezed the juice from the lemon used in the recipe over some cauliflower florets along with some olive oil, salt and pepper, and popped it into the oven for about 40 minutes (shaking the pan every 15 minutes to avoid too much burning on the top.

While that was happening I fried up some pancetta and a bit more garlic in a good lug of olive oil, before dumping a generous lot of breadcrumbs into the pan and left it in there until it started to crisp up. Toss in some cooked spaghetti, the cauliflower and another squeeze of lemon juice (as well as chilli flakes if that’s your thing), and settled down to a damn satisfying meal.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Italian Breadcrumbs

  1. Jan Hewitt says:

    Ah ha! My thermomix demo lady used this recipe for a vegetable bake and I wondered where the recipe was _ thank you

Leave a Reply

