Hungarian Goulash

(recipe taken from the Everyday Cooking for Every Family TMX cookbook)

After a bit of a letdown with the beef stroganoff, I was a bit hesitant to make another stew-type dish. But that wouldn’t be fair  to the rest of the recipes now, would it?

Ingredients

2 cloves garlic (4 in my house)

300g onion, peeled and quartered (I had a red and brown onion, so used both)

20g oil or butter (Butter is better. Ask Julia Childs)

500g Beef or Veal (I went to Coles and found “beef chunks goulash” in the meat aisle, whatever that means!)

1 tsp sugar

50g tomato concentrate

250g fresh tomatoes, diced

150g red wine

2 tbsp sweet paprika powder

1 tsp lemon rind (I actually didn’t bother with this, I didn’t have another use for the lemon juice and remaining rind so didn’t want to waste a whole fruit)

1 tsp salt

Pepper to taste

1 tsp caraway seed/powder (I bought the seeds)

1 tbsp marjoram

2 bay leaves

3 Pimento (couldn’t be bothered finding out what this was or where to buy it)

Pinch nutmeg

1 tbsp flour

150g water

150g red or green capsicum, cut into strips (I used red)

Method

  • Place garlic and onion into TMX bowl and chop for 3 seconds/speed 5.
  • Add oil and saute for 3 minutes/100 degrees/speed 1.
  • Add meat and cook for 5 minutes/Varoma temperature/Reverse+speed soft.
  • Add sugar, tomato concentrate, tomatoes, wine and spices and cook for 40-60 minutes/100 degrees/Reverse+speed soft.
  • Add flour mixed with water and capsicum strips through hole in lid and cook for 5 minutes/90 degrees/Reverse + speed 1.
  • Serve with mashed potatoes and polenta (I made a chickpea and garlic mash, recipe to come!)

Tagged ,

One thought on “Hungarian Goulash

  1. Persnickety says:

    A great recipe I can’t wait to try out. I love Goulash and those adventurous enough to try it! I wish more would.

    I came up with my own version of a Hungarian Goulash. While different from your own, I think mine is a unique take on the dish. I’m new to the Food Blog scene and would love some feedback from a pro like you. Check out my recipe if have time.

    http://persnicketypanhandler.blogspot.com/2014/02/hungarian-gulasche.html

Leave a Reply

