Vodka Tomato Sauce, served with pasta, prawns and snowpeas

(Recipe taken from the SuperKitchenMachine)

It’s getting to the point now where I’m flicking through all my recipe books over and over to find recipes for a quick weeknight dinner. Much as I love In The Mix, the recipes are a little too complicated for a whip-me-up meal, and I haven’t gotten the husband to cross the lentil-or-vegetarian-as-a-main-dish border yet.

So I was trawling through a number of TMX blog and stumbled across this recipe for vodka tomato sauce. There’s this cafe called Terrazza in Perth where I sampled my first penne a la vodka and it became my favourite dish there. Also, I’d been looking for a reason to finish off my bottle of Absolut, which is absolutely (hah) fine to drink, until you’ve tried Grey Goose or Belvedere. And then Absolut is only good enough for cooking.

I wouldn’t blame you for wanting to slap this vodka ‘connoisseur’ right now.

Ingredients

3 large cloves of garlic (6 medium cloves it is)

150g onion, quartered

30g butter

30g olive oil (I had a 65g chunk of butter in the fridge so I used that and omitted the oil.)

800g fresh tomatoes, quartered

150g red capsicum, cut into chunks (for some reason I didn’t remember to buy this at the supermarket, so I added another 150g of tomatoes)

1 dried red chilli, cut into thirds (I used some dried chilli flakes instead as I had it sitting in the pantry)

I sprig of rosemary, leaves only (I used dried rosemary)

130g vodka (the recipe tells you to split the quantities to 90g first and 40g later, but being as lazy as I am, I just added it all in one go)

50g light cream

S&P to taste (there are measurements on the original recipe but I just whacked some in)

I also added 250g prawns and 2 handfuls of snowpeas to the mix, to bulk it up a little bit.

Method (note: method differs ever-so-slightly from the original)

  • Pop garlic cloves in and chop for 4 seconds/speed 6.
  • Add onion and chop for 5 seconds/speed 4.
  • Scrape down the sides, add olive oil and butter, cook for 5 mins/Varoma/speed 1.
  • Add capsicum, rosemary, chilli and tomatoes, chop for 5 seconds/speed 5.
  • Add vodka and cook for 30 minutes/Varoma/speed 1. Pop the cap on its side on top of the hole, to prevent the sauce from spitting all over your beautiful walls and countertop.
  • Add the s&p and cream, and blend for 4 seconds/speed 4.
  • Add in the prawns, and cooked the mixture for a further 5 minutes/Varoma/reverse/speed 1, dropping the snowpeas in at 3 minutes. You’re better off popping the veggies in for just 1 minute though, the snowpeas were a touch softer than I would have liked. Serve on top of al dente pasta. Doneski.
Tagged

Leave a Reply

