Orange and Dark Chocolate Muffins

(I tweaked the ‘Muffin’ recipe in the Everyday Cooking for Every Family cookbook)

Knowing that kids are (hopefully) coming into the picture in the next 5 years, I realise I’m starting to look out for recipes that taste awesome but are still good for you. The basic muffin recipe in this cookbook, for example, uses a mixture of self-raising and wholemeal flour, rather than plain. Must be healthier.

Right?

Ingredients

160g self-raising flour

150g wholemeal flour

180g milk (or, if you’re making orange flavoured muffins like I am, then you can use the equivalent in fresh orange juice and keep the rind of one orange)

150g raw sugar (I went with 90g)

2 eggs

70g light olive oil (I used normal olive oil which tasted fine)

1/4 tsp baking powder (optional, so I didn’t bother)

200g chocolate chips

Method

Before I start, I wanted to note that for plain muffins, disregard the chocolate chips and orange (juice and rind). I ended up only having about 100g or orange juice, so I topped it up with water and left the sugar content a bit higher than I normally would have.

  • Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees Celcius.
  • I dumped the rind into the TMX bowl and blitzed it for about 5 seconds/speed 9.
  • Place all ingredients in the TM bowl and mix for 40 seconds/speed 5.
  • Add fruit/choc bits at this stage and mix for 10-15 seconds/speed 1, using your spatula to incorporate the mixture.
  • Spoon into a greased muffin tray, and bake for about 20-25 minutes until golden brown. Done.

Freshly baked muffins always tend to taste amazing.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Orange and Dark Chocolate Muffins

  1. Maureen says:

    These muffins look really yummy! I hope to try them soon.

    • ChooTheFat says:

      Hi there,

      Thanks for the comment, and please let me know how you go with yours! Dark chocolate and orange are pretty awesome together…

      Sharon

  2. […] berries” and found this recipe. Gotta love the internet! I had made muffins before (here and here), but the fact that the lady called her version ‘Canadian’ piqued my […]

Leave a Reply

