Pizza Dough

(Recipe taken from the Everyday Cooking for Every Family cookbook)

I’ve never baked bread, or used yeast in my cooking before, so I was in equal parts terrified and excited to make my first yeast-based product – pizza dough! On Dani Valent’s recommendation, I also made the lamb topping found in her In The Mix cookbook, and stirred through the harissa I’d made for added flavour. I’ll show you the recipe for the topping in a separate post.

Ingredients

280g water or milk (I used water)

30g fresh yeast or 1 sachet dry yeast (I used a sachet)

20g oil

2 tsp salt

500g bakers flour (I used plain flour)

Method

  • Place the water/milk, yeast, oil and salt into the TMX bowl, and mix for 5 seconds/speed 3.
  • Add the flour. Continue mixing for 6 seconds/speed 8 to combine.
  • Set the dial to the closed lid position. Knead the dough for 2 minutes/interval speed.
  • Transfer the dough to a floured bowl and let it rise to double the quantity (approx. 30 minutes)
  • Break dough into 4 balls, and let rest again for 15 minutes.
  • Preheat your oven to 200-220 degrees. Form your pizzas and add your favourite topping. Yes, those are the hands of yours truly!
  • Bake until cooked. Cooking time varies depending on the toppings used. I’ll pop a picture of the finished product in the next post!
Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Pizza Dough

  1. […] my very first attempt at making pizza dough, I decided to extend my streak and mince meat in the Thermomix for the first time. And yay, it was […]

Leave a Reply

