Rosemary and Cheese Biscuits

(Recipe adapted from Steph Berg’s blog)

Someone at work brought in a ridiculously big bag of rosemary sprigs and left them in the kitchen. Far be it from me to leave perfectly good herbs just lying around, so I grabbed a handful with the full intention of making roast potatoes that night.

That didn’t happen.

But I did have a lot of cheese left over from a party the weekend before.

Cheese biccies it was.

Ingredients

4 sprigs rosemary

60g tasty cheese (I used a spicy cheddar, the pale one on the bottom of the picture)

120g plain flour

100g rice flour (white rice milled for 2 minutes/speed 9)

1 1/2 tsp salt (only if using unsalted butter, I didn’t bother)

A shake of cayenne pepper (as I had the chilli flakes in the cheddar I didn’t bother)

80g butter

120ml milk

Method

  • The blog tells you to pre-heat the oven first to 180 degrees celcius. But considering how much of a slowpoke I am shaping biscuits, I held off until I actually had the dough ready.
  • Chop the rosemary and cheese for 4-5 seconds/speed 6. Set aside.
  • Pop the flour, salt and cayenne into the Thermomix bowl, and pulse on turbo a couple of times until well mixed. Because I didn’t add the cayenne pepper or salt, I just threw the flour in and went to the next step.
  • Add the butter and mix for 4-6 seconds/speed 6. It should resemble breadcrumbs.
  • Add the cheese and rosemary, and mix for 60 seconds/reverse/speed 3. Slowly drizzle in the milk during this time, until the mixture starts to form a ball. Mine didn’t really get to the ball stage, it looked more like this. Also I turned on the oven at this point!
  • Roll the mixture into balls (approx 1 tsp of dough each) and place on a lined baking tray, and bake for 15-20 minutes or until the cheese goes golden.
  • Done-ski.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

