Milo Coconut Rock Cookies

(recipe taken from this blog)

Each time the in-laws are over for a stay, they buy a tin of Milo. Just before they arrive roughly 12 months later, I throw the half-finished, expired old tin of Milo away. And then they buy another tin. The cycle continues.

So this time I thought to myself, dang nammit, I’m going to find a way to use it up!

Yes. I know you can just make hot/cold Milo. We don’t do that.

So I googled “thermomix mil0” to see what would pop up, and voila! Milo cookies! I did feel the need to call it Milo Coconut Rock Cookies though as I think that’s a more apt explanation of how mine turned out.

Ingredients

100g butter

75g golden syrup (my plan to use  up stuff came unstuck here. Now I have a near-full jar of golden syrup. Sigh.)

50g brown sugar (I had demerara sugar in the pantry)

60g water

1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

110g Milo

90g rolled oats

80g plain flour

80g wholemeal plain flour

90g desiccated coconut

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celcius. Line a couple of trays with baking paper.
  • Place the butter, golden syrup, sugar and water into the Thermomix bowl and cook for 3 minutes/80 degrees/speed 1.
  • Stir in the bicarbonate of soda and mix for 10 seconds/speed 3.
  • Add Milo, oats, flour and coconut, and mix for approximately 30 seconds/speed 4/reverse until combined.
  • Roll mixture into balls 3-4cm in diameter and place on a tray (our balls were probably around the 1.5cm diameter mark.
  • Flatten gently with a fork.
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes until firm.

You’ll see that clearly, mine doesn’t look like the picture in the blog. But it was yummy all the same! I might have left it in the oven a little long though, hence the “rock cookie” renaming. Next time, will make sure I avoid the same mistake.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Milo Coconut Rock Cookies

  1. […] were staring balefully at me over the weekend, plus I kept thinking about how I could use up that massive jar of golden syrup I’d ended up acquiring. So I googled ‘thermomix banana golden syrup’ and huzzah! […]

Leave a Reply

