Guinness Chocolate Cake

(Recipe taken from this blog)

My best friend visiting Melbourne coupled with the Melbourne Food & Wine Festival resulted in me needing an entire week to recover. No, seriously. Instead of blogging or doing anything remotely constructive, I’ve spent the last 4 nights falling asleep whilst watching Friends reruns.

At 8.30pm.

Anyway, I’d made this last week for a colleague’s birthday. That’s the beauty of the Thermomix, the ability to whip up a cake batter in literally 5 minutes.

Ingredients

250g Guinness or stout (this was mildly irritating, as the smallest can I could find was much more than 250g and we don’t drink stout, so the remainder went to waste)

250g unsalted butter, diced

60g cocoa

400g caster sugar (I used 300g raw sugar, had it at home)

140g sour cream or creme fraiche (I used sour cream)

2 eggs

1tsp vanilla essence

280g plain flour

2 1/2 tsps bicarbonate of soda

Method

  • Heat oven to 180 degrees. Line a square cake tin with baking paper.
  • Pour Guinness into TM bowl and add butter. Heat for 3 minutes/80 degrees/speed 1.
  • Add cocoa, sugar, sour cream, eggs and vanilla. Mix for 20 seconds/speed 3.
  • Add flour and bicarbonate of soda. Mix for another 20 seconds/speed 3.
  • Pour mixture into your cake tin, pop in oven and bake for 45 minutes.

It is an incredibly dense cake and can be eaten on its own. But because it was serving as a birthday cake, I melted some chocolate buttons and added some cream to make a quick ganache. I didn’t really measure anything, just added the cream in little by little, stirring until it resembled something I’d happily bury my face in.

I turned the cake upside down so it would be easier to spread the ganache over the top. I also had a few strawberries left, so I decorated the edges. Completely unnecessary, but fun all the same!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Guinness Chocolate Cake

  1. […] a birthday cake beforehand, I needed a tried and tested recipe that I could jazz up. So I went for this Guinness chocolate cake I’d made a while back, and also made some chocolate ganache to spread on top. This ganache […]

Leave a Reply

