Banana Muffins

(Recipe from this blog post)

A couple of bananas with rapidly blackening skin were staring balefully at me over the weekend, plus I kept thinking about how I could use up that massive jar of golden syrup I’d ended up acquiring. So I googled ‘thermomix banana golden syrup’ and huzzah! Recipe scored. (Thank God for Google.)

I haven’t actually bought a loaf tin yet, so I ended up making muffins instead.

Ingredients

160g wholemeal flour

1 tsp baking powder (store-bought)

150g brown sugar (I reduced this to 90g and the muffins still ended up fairly sweet)

1 egg

2 tablespoons golden syrup

2 ripe bananas

40g walnuts (didn’t have this so didn’t bother)

Method

  • Preheat your oven to 160 degrees Celcius, and get your muffin pan ready (I didn’t grease my pan but it was fine).
  • Place flour, baking powder, sugar and golden syrup into Thermomix bowl and mix for 15 seconds/speed 4, stopping once to scrape down the sides of the bowl.

  • Add the bananas (and walnuts if you have them), and mix for 2 minutes/speed 6 or until the mixture is well combined and pale.

  • Pop your mixture into the muffin tin (I only had enough mixture for 8 muffins), and bake for 20-25 minutes. Dunzo.

I reckon I’ll try it with 80g of sugar and 1.5 tablespoons of golden syrup next time, but it was yummy all the same!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

