Minced pork, spinach and carrot congee (Chinese porridge)

(See my first try here)

I had a hankering for some comfort food, and because I’ve been on my own these past few weeks I wanted a one-pot meal with my veggies, carbs and protein all whacked into one. I followed the steps in my previous post, but omitted the dry stock powder, cornflour and sesame oil, replaced the pork strips with 500g of mince marinated in white pepper and soy, and added garlic and spinach to bulk up the veggie content.

  • Mill your rice for about 8 seconds/speed 8, then set aside.
  • Pop your garlic cloves and carrot (I used three cloves and one big carrot cut into large chunks), and grate these for about 5 seconds/speed 8.

  • Pour the milled rice back in, add water and cook for 12 minutes/100 degrees/reverse/speed 1.
  • Drop teaspoons of the mince into the congee, and cook for a further 12 minutes/100 degrees/reverse/speed 1. I added a large handful of spinach leaves through the hole on the cover when there was one and a half minutes left on the timer, and stirred it into the congee to wilt the leaves. Add additional salt and pepper to taste. Dunzo.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Minced pork, spinach and carrot congee (Chinese porridge)

Leave a Reply

