Porcini mushroom risotto

(Recipe adapted from In The Mix)

During my Thermomix demo, the consultant made a mushroom risotto from a recipe found in the EDC cookbook. Apart from some of the rice sticking to the bottom of the bowl and burning, I was stoked to discover how easy it was to cook risotto in the T-dog!

For whatever reason it took me a while to actually make a risotto again, but when I saw a slightly more fancypants risotto recipe in Dani Valent’s cookbook, I couldn’t wait to go out and get some dried porcini mushrooms – an ingredient I hadn’t actually used in my kitchen before – and give it a crack!

The recipe in Dani’s cookbook is actually for mushroom risotto balls. I went down the lazy route here with a few things (pre-shredded parmesan, sliced button mushrooms rather than a mix, and the pack of porcini mushrooms I bought was 40g rather than 50g as needed in the recipe. In addition, I didn’t bother stirring in mascarpone which the recipe calls for, and oh my god holy crap THE INGREDIENTS DIDN’T INCLUDE GARLIC, which I just couldn’t leave out! So the ingredient list below is more to suit my personal taste and laziness.

Ingredients

40g dried porcini mushrooms

600g water

1 shallot, peeled

3 cloves of garlic

20g olive oil

200g fresh mushrooms

salt & pepper to taste

20g butter

100g white wine

200g arborio rice

A big handful of parmesan cheese to taste

Method

  • Place the porcini mushrooms into the TMX bowl and pulse on Turbo so that the pieces are chopped but not powdered.
  • Add 600g water and warm for 6 minutes/100 degrees/speed 1.
  • Pass the stock through a sieve and set the liquid and mushroom pieces aside.
  • Add the shallot and garlic and chop for 1 seconds/speed 7.
  • Scrape down the sides, add the olive oil, porcini mushroom pieces, fresh mushroom pieces, salt & pepper. Cook for 5 minutes/100 degrees/speed 2.
  • Add the butter, white wine and arborio rice for 4 minutes/100 degrees/reverse/speed soft. 
  • Add 450g of the mushroom stock, and give the mix a good stir to make sure that none of the rice is sticking to the bottom of the bowl. Cook for 6 minutes/100 degrees/reverse/speed soft.
  • Give the mix another good stir to make sure none of that rice is stuck at the bottom, and then cook for a further 6 minutes/100 degrees/reverse/speed soft.
  • Pop the risotto into the ThermoServer, stir in your parmesan cheese then cover the dish and allow it to go through the final stage of absorption. Add some more cracked pepper if you wish (I always do) and enjoy.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Porcini mushroom risotto

  1. Ali says:

    I made this for dinner tonight and it was DELICIOUS! Much better than the EDC version. I did make the following variations to suit our tastebuds and to get a little more veg in.

    Added a carrot to the shallot & garlic
    Used 20g dried shiitake mushrooms instead of porcini (couldn’t find any porcini tonight!)
    Added 3 tbs of umami paste (from Tenina’s website)
    Added a couple of handfuls of baby spinach with 3 mins to go on the clock
    Finished with a little truffle oil

    So good! I’m really enjoying your blog, by the way. We love congee, so looking forward to trying some of your recipes!

    • ChooTheFat says:

      Oh I’m so happy you liked this recipe. Love how you added veggies in as well. And I bet the truffle oil completely made it 🙂 I’ll give shiitake a go, it’s definitely a lot cheaper than porcini!

      Can’t wait to hear how you go with the congee, I’m looking for varieties of that recipe as well so do let me know what you end up adding in!

Leave a Reply

