Kaya struggles

(Recipe from In The Mix)

I ADORE kaya. Slices of buttered bread slathered with this coconut custard/jam/spread is up there in terms of the BEST BREAKFASTS IN THE WORLD. Actually, best snacks in the world. I’m a firm believer in not restricting food types to times of day.

However, I’d never made it at home before. If you make it on the stove (the traditional way), you basically have to stay by the stove for over an hour continuously stirring the mixture. Not something that I am willing to do. So when I found this recipe for kaya in In The Mix along with a ridiculously beautiful picture of kaya on toast with a thick slab of butter, I knew I had to give this a go.

Ingredients

270g coconut milk (at least 80% coconut content)

150g caster sugar (I milled raw sugar in the TMX)

3 eggs

2 egg yolks

3 pandan (screwpine) leaves, tied in a knot.

Method

I must start off by saying that I didn’t quite get there, and I’m not entirely sure why. Comments and feedback definitely welcome here!

  • In a saucepan, bring the coconut milk to a boil and then set aside.
  • In a separate saucepan, heat the caster sugar until it caramelises. Once caramelised, immediately remove it from the heat and pour the hot coconut milk onto the sugar. Now, mine was a rich brown colour but it did still have some crystals in it. I was concerned I’d burn the mixture so I poured the coconut milk in anyway (and yes, it steams furiously so be careful). I cooked it for a while longer so that all the crystals would dissolve.
  • Let the mixture cool to about 45 degrees. I don’t have a thermometer so I just poured the mixture into the TMX bowl, and let it sit in there until the temperature light stayed at 50 degrees for a few minutes.
  • Add the eggs and yolks, and mix for 15 seconds/speed 4.
  • Add the pandan knot, then pop the Butterfly in place. Cook for 60 minutes/80 degrees/reverse/speed soft.
  • When finished, check the consistency: the kaya is ready if it’s thick enough to gently spread with a knife. If not, cook for a further 5 minutes/80 degrees/reverse/speed soft.

I cooked the mixture for an additional 10 minutes, however mine was still very watery. I’m not sure why, but I was too scared of overcooking the kaya so I stopped at this point, hoping that the mixture would thicken once I left it to cool. But alas, while the taste was how kaya should be, the consistency certainly wasn’t! Again, any feedback here would be totally welcome. So rather than let the kaya go entirely to waste, I made a basic cake (recipe here), sliced it in half and made a bit of a butter kaya cake sandwich!

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Kaya struggles

  1. Su Chin says:

    You just need to cook for another hour or so. At 80deg.. it won’t burn out.

    🙂 When u leave it to cool, it will firm up even more. EnjoY!

  2. Reduce santan (coconut cream) to 180 grams in your recipe.

    Try this method:
    Put all ingredients into TM bowl with butterfly, 30 mins 90° speed 2. When temperature reaches 90° remove MC cup. Once times up, if still not thick enough, cook for another 10-15 mins.

    Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

