Pumpkin Soup (Take 2)

(Recipe from the EDC cookbook)

Winter weather is upon us in Melbourne, and when this happens soup and bread is always a good thing to look forward to after a long day at work! After trying out the In The Mix recipe a while back, I thought I’d give the EDC version a go since it seemed there would be no wastage.

Ingredients

1 onion, peeled and quartered

500g pumpkin, peeled and roughly cubed (I used Kent pumpkin, with the skin and seeds removed)

1 carrot, washed and roughly chopped (As I normally do, I peeled the skin off although it doesn’t specify this in the recipe)

1 tbsp butter or oil (I used butter)

500g salt-reduced vegetable stock (I had salt-reduced chicken stock at home which I used, didn’t seem to affect the taste too much)

The recipe also calls for basil to garnish, 3 tbsp of cream and a pinch of sugar which I didn’t bother with.

Method

  • Place onion into bowl and chop for 5 seconds/speed 7.
  • Add butter/oil and saute for 3 mins/100 degrees/speed 1.
  • Add pumpkin and carrot and chop for 15 seconds/speed 7.
  • Add stock (and sugar if you’re using), and cook for 20 mins/100 degrees/speed 1.
  • Add cream (if using), and blend for 15-20 seconds by slowly going from speed 1-9.

While this recipe is a bit runnier than a normal pumpkin soup, the taste was fab (especially with a LOT of cracked pepper, which is how I normally have my pumpkin soup!). I’ve popped the batch of soup in the fridge, and have a loaf of garlic bread to accompany it mid-week after work. Next time I might reduce the amount of stock  by a third and see if that works better.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

