Boiled Craisin and Sultana Cake

(Recipe adapted from this post)

I had a packet of Craisins that had been languishing in my pantry since Christmas when I forgot to include it in my stuffing. I hate having random ingredients in my cupboard so I went on the hunt for a new recipe that would make good use of those damn dried cranberries. I found this boiled sultana cake recipe online and figured what the hey, i’ll just mix some dried fruit together!

image

Ingredients

500g sultanas, or in my case a mix of sultanas and cranberries.
2 cups water
250g butter, cubed
3 eggs
350g sugar (I used 310g raw sugar)
350g plain flour
1tsp baking powder
1tsp almond essence (optional, I didn’t bother)

Method

  • Line a baking tin with baking paper.
  • Place dried fruit and water in the Thermomix bowl, and cook for 8 mins/90 degrees/reverse/speed soft.

image

  • Pour out the water and add the butter. Heat the mixture for a further 3 mins/90 degrees/reverse/speed soft until the butter has melted. You’ll note my butter isn’t actually cubed, more halfheartedly butchered from the original 250g stick. It’s at room temperature though so I promise I was looking out for the Thermomix’s wellbeing!

image

  • Pour the mixture into a separate container. Don’t bother washing the TMX bowl (woo hoo!)
  • Insert the Butterfly into the TMX bowl. Add the eggs and sugar, and mix for 4 mins/speed 3.
  • Add in flour, baking powder, essence and the sultana/butter mixture.
  • Mix for 2 mins/reverse/speed soft, until just combined.
  • Pour the mixture into your baking tin, pop it into the oven and bake it for 45-55 mins or until a skewer comes out clean from the middle of the cake.

image

Gobble.

image

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

