Spinach and Parmesan Soup

(Recipe tweaked from The Kitchen Playground’s post)

With maximum temperatures hovering around the 15 degree mark, I’ve been on the lookout for different Thermomix soup recipes to tide us through winter. The fact that I can chop, cook and blend everything in the one bowl is pretty cool, I gotta say.

While trawling through the internet I came across this spinach and parmesan soup which sounded pretty good. However, it wasn’t really what I had expected. I was thinking we’d end up with a vibrant green, thick soup akin to pea and ham, but this wasn’t the case. Instead, even though I blended the mixture for longer than the recommended time, I ended up with a chunky, yet watery mix. Which then reminded me of the stir-fried spinach in broth with egg dish that is available in Chinese restaurants which I love, but the addition of parmesan weirded me out!

Anyway.

Check out the link above for the original recipe, and then my modifications below. I think this could be quite nice without the cheese, but to each their own!

Ingredients

A handful of grated Parmesan

4 cloves garlic, peeled (I used 6)

1 potato, peeled and quartered

1l chicken or vegetable stock

250g spinach

2 eggs

Method

  • Place garlic, potato and stock into the Thermomix bowl, and cook for 10 mins/100 degrees/speed 2.

image

  • Add spinach to the liquid, and blend for 10 seconds/speed 6.

image

  • Crack eggs into a small bowl.  Turn Thermomix on to speed 4 /30 seconds. Immediately pour in the two eggs and parmesan through the lid. Done.

image

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

