Tuna, vegetable and tomato pasta sauce

Everything that I have made in the Thermomix so far has been based on a recipe. But last night, stuck with a motley crew of ingredients in the fridge and pantry, I decided to attempt a Let’s See What Happens Dish. Granted, you will see that what I’ve done isn’t really earth shattering, but I was totally bragging about my accomplishment to the cocker spaniel. (He was the only one that would listen.)

The best thing about this recipe is that you can adapt it to suit whatever you want to use up in your kitchen. Zucchini, capsicum, leeks, silverbeet, the list goes on. I’m sure it would also taste great with shredded leftover chicken, or smoked fish. Just use my ingredient list as a guide.

Ingredients

1 onion, peeled and quartered
1 carrot, peeled and cut into 4-5 pieces depending on your carrot size.
Clove(s) of garlic, peeled (I’m sure one clove will suffice. I just don’t have any control when it comes to garlic as you no doubt would have seen by now)
Knob of butter or some olive oil
1 jar pasta sauce (I used Leggos Chargrilled Vegetables I think)
1 MC of white wine if you have it in the fridge, otherwise water or veggie stock will work
1 large can of tuna
Half a packet of short pasta (I used Barilla fusili)
Handful spinach

Method

  • Pop your carrot (or harder veggies such as zucchini, leek or capsicum), into the Thermomix bowl along with your onion and garlic. Chop for 5 seconds/speed 7.

image

  • Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add a knob of butter (I just cut a wedge off but if I were to guess I’d say a tablespoon’s worth) or lug of olive oil, and saute mixture for 3 mins/100 degrees/speed 1.
  • Add your tomato sauce and wine, water or stock into the bowl. Cook for 15 mins/100 degrees/speed 1. You can choose to cook your pasta in the TMX when the sauce is done, but I’m very impatient and didn’t want to wait so I popped a pot of water on the stove at this point to cook my fusili.

image

  • Add your tuna (or whatever protein you are using), and sturdier leafy greens such as silverbeet, and cook for a further 5 minutes/100 degrees/speed 1.

image

  • If you are adding spinach like I did, throw it in now and give it a quick stir through.

image

Pour the sauce over your pasta, add chilli flakes or tabasco for a bit of heat if that’s your thing (if using fresh chilli, pop that in with the garlic, onion and hard veggies at the start), and some grated cheese if you feel like it. Done-zo! If you’re giving this a shot please let me know what ingredients you used so I can steal your idea use it as inspiration. I thought that the addition of garlic, carrot and onion to the sauce gave it a much (EWW PRETENTIOUS WORDS COMING) fuller flavour, so I’d definitely recommend having those ingredients wherever possible.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Tuna, vegetable and tomato pasta sauce

  1. Margaret says:

    Very tasty! Nice easy one, cooked my pasta separately as you did, much more civilised presentation topped with some Parma and yum.

    • ChooTheFat says:

      Glad you enjoyed it! Pretty versatile recipe too, you can add other veggies and ingredients that tickle your fancy.

Leave a Reply

