Coffee cake

(Recipe adapted from this post)

I LOVE coffee cake. But for some reason, it’s not a common flavour in Melbourne. Also, it was freakin hard to find a Thermomix recipe that was just that, a plain coffee-flavoured cake with no frills. There was one recipe that included a ‘glass of milk’ as one ingredient, and ‘espresso coffee cup’ as another. Considering I have 5 different water glass sizes at home and no espresso cups to my name, I figured that the next best option was to modify a butter cake recipe. I thought of playing with Dani Valent’s basic cake recipe, but when I saw that this recipe only uses self-raising flour, I thought it would be interesting to see exactly how much lighter the result would be! I tweaked the original ingredients and used a few alternatives. Also, I didn’t bother with the Butterfly (one less thing to wash, yay!)

Ingredients

2 heaped teaspoons of instant coffee

2 teaspoons of hot water

165g raw sugar (I normally reduce the sugar content by about a third, but seeing as I was adding coffee I thought I’d leave the full amount in to counteract the bitterness)

125g butter, cubed

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

2 eggs

225g self-raising flour

125ml milk

Method

  • I started off dissolving my Nescafe granules in the least amount of water possible. I can’t remember if I used two teaspoons of water, but basically you stir the mixture until this…

image

… looks like this!

image

  • Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees.
  • Place your sugar in the TMX bowl and mill for 5 seconds/speed 10.
  • Add butter, and if it’s straight out of the fridge, chop for 5 seconds/speed 7.
  • Scrape down the sides, and mix for 30 seconds/speed 4. 

image

  • Add in your coffee mix, followed by the milk and flour.
  • Mix for 30 seconds/speed 4 and while doing this, add in your eggs one at a time through the hole in the cover.

image

  • Check your mixture. If necessary, scrape down the sides and mix for another 5-10 seconds/speed 5.

image

  • Pop the mix into a tin lined with baking paper (I used a medium sized square but your normal round tin will be fine)

image

  • Whack it in your oven for about 25 minutes and once it’s passed the skewer test, you’re done-ski!

image

My girlfriends thought this cake was brilliant, and it was certainly moist and fluffy. Not QUITE where I want it to be in terms of coffee strength, so I might try 3 teaspoons of coffee the next time! Or maybe some coffee buttercream…

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Coffee cake

  1. tracey says:

    this recipe is great I added 2 extra tsp of coffee and made muffins with choc chips on top .It was my friends birthday and she loves coffee and chocolate so I put them together , she loved them.Thank you for this recipe ( used the TM for this recipe) cheers Tracey

    • ChooTheFat says:

      Hi Tracey, I’m so glad to hear you and your friend enjoyed it! The next time I make this I’ll add the extra coffee like you did. And you can never go wrong with chocolate!

Leave a Reply

