Minestrone

(Recipe taken from the EDC cookbook)

I went on a Thermomix soup rampage over the weekend, which I didn’t quite realise until I ended up having soup for lunch and dinner three days in a row. Menu planning not QUITE up to par this week.

Anyway, not sure if I missed something here, but even without cooking the pasta shells in the TMX, I could only manage to add about 400g of water to the bowl instead of the 750g the recipe calls for. So by the time I heated up the soup on the stove a couple of days later and added the pasta, there really wasn’t much liquid left and I basically ended up with a sloppy pasta dish. It tasted okay, but definitely not one of the better dishes I had made. Any advice?

Ingredients

Small handful parsley
A few basil leaves (didn’t bother)
1 onion peeled and halved
3 cloves garlic
50g olive oil
400g diced vegetables of choice
400g tin chopped tomatoes
400g tin of borlotti or cannelini beans, drained (I used a four bean mix)
2 tsp vegetable stock concentrate
750g water
50g sachet tomato paste
1 tbsp raw sugar
Sea salt to taste
130g pasta shells

Method

  • Place parsley (and basil) into your TMX bowl and chop for 3 seconds/speed 7. Set aside (I actually just went straight to the next step).

image

  • Place onion, garlic and oil into the bowl and chop for 4 seconds/speed 6. Saute for 5 minutes/Varoma/speed 1.

image

  • Add all remaining ingredients except peas if using (I wasn’t) and pasta shells, and cook for 15 minutes/100 degrees/Reverse/speed soft. This is where I realised that the bowl was too full to accommodate all the ingredients.
  • I added another 10 minutes to the heating time to ensure the beans were well-cooked, then popped the mixture into a pot for the next day.

image

  • I cooked my pasta shells separately before adding in to the soup mix, but by that time there was only a small amount of liquid left. Edible, but not quite the hearty minestrone I was hoping for.

image

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Minestrone

  1. […] hadn’t had much luck with Thermomix soup this past couple of weeks, with a fairly disastrous minestrone, as well as a bacon and corn chowder which I didn’t bother popping a post up, that’s […]

  2. My friends have been asking me if the Thermomix is just as great for home cooks as it is for pro chefs, I would always tell them it depends on how often you cook. It’s a little pricy but if you make use of it properly and most of the time then the price shouldn’t be a problem.

  3. Gail R says:

    I tried the minestrone tonight, thinking that since you posted it, it would be really yum. I started following the recipe, then halfway through saw your comments about how it didn’t work and freaked out!

    I omitted the parsley and basil, and added some dried parsley and basil instead. I used passata instead of a can of tomatoes, used a bit less passata and added a bit of water instead. I left out the tomato paste, and I used chicken stock concentrate instead of veggie concentrate. I used flat egg noodles (pappardelle) broken into 5cm pieces instead of pasta shells. It worked out really well, and fitted in – just!

    • ChooTheFat says:

      Hi there,

      I’m so glad your attempt turned out better than mine! I’ll make an effort to list any recipe dramas at the start of future posts, so that anyone reading can preempt the issues that I end up facing. Breaking up the pappardelle and using chicken stock concentrate also sounds more in line with my tastes so I’ll take that on board for my second go.

Leave a Reply

