Gravy for roast lamb

(Recipe adapted from Jamie Oliver’s recipe)

I had friends over for dinner on the weekend and decided to try a new roast lamb recipe. When I discovered that chopping, heating and stirring was involved in the preparation of the gravy, I figured the Thermomix would be able to do most of the work for me while I poured myself and my guests a big glass of wine each!

But first, some before and after shots…

image

image

This roast recipe actually yields a fair bit of pan juices to use in the gravy,but if you are making the sauce on its own I’m sure the flavour from your stock will suffice. If you are using the pan juices, I recommend tipping the liquid into a glass, letting the oil rise to the top and then spooning it out.

Ingredients

Bunch of fresh mint

500ml stock – I used beef but I’m sure chicken or veggie would have been fine in a pinch

2 tbsps capers, drained and rinsed

Pan juices with as much oil removed as possible

1 tbsp flour

Method

  • Pop the mint leaves in your TMX bowl and chop for 3 seconds/speed 5. Set aside, but don’t worry too much about completely cleaning your bowl before moving on to the next step.

image

  • Pop your stock, capers, pan juices and flour into the TMX bowl. Heat for 5 minutes/100 degrees/reverse/speed 1.
  • Add in your fresh mint leaves and vinegar. Mix for 10 seconds/reverse/speed 2.
  • Enjoy! You might want to add salt and pepper, but as I had heaps of that on the lamb the pan juices had more than enough seasoning. Also, I tend to drown my meal in gravy, and even so, I thought this recipes was more than enough for four people (plus leftovers).
My picture was actually taken the next day (it’s hard to remember to take photos when you have guests over and wine is flowing!) The colour you see is actually a bit of the hardened fat on top, the actual gravy is a much darker brown.

image

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Gravy for roast lamb

  1. • It’s great that there are Thermomix recipes all over the internet and even books that can be bought. That’s one of the first things I did before buying a Thermomix, I checked out some of the things you can make with the machine and I wasn’t disappointed.

Leave a Reply

