Berry Muffins

(Recipe from this blog)

Costco is a hellhole if you’re hungry and/or don’t have a strict shopping list and/or have a partner that is prone to impulse shopping. As a result of one or more of these factors *cough husband cough*, I ended up with a big bag of frozen berries that was meant to be used to make a berry sorbet in summer, and as the months flew by, was resigned to the back of the freezer.

So I googled “thermomix berries” and found this recipe. Gotta love the internet! I had made muffins before (here and here), but the fact that the lady called her version ‘Canadian’ piqued my interest!

Ingredients

120g frozen berries

1 tbsp plain flour

220g plain flour

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

50g butter

110g sugar (I used 80g)

1 egg

170g milk

1tsp vanilla essence

Method

  • Preheat your oven to 200 degrees celcius and grease a muffin tin. I found out at the end of this recipe that the better was enough for 9 muffins rather than 12.
  • Place a bowl on the TMX lid, and set the scales to zero. Weigh out the berries, add the tablespoon of flour and mix gently so the berries are coated. Set aside.

image

  • Add the flour, baking powder, salt, butter and sugar, then pulse on Turbo a couple of times until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
  • Add the egg, milk and vanilla. Knead 3/4 times on the dough setting. The batter will still be lumpy.

image

  • Add your batter to the berries and mix gently, then pop the mix into your muffin tin.

image

  • Bake for 20 – 25 minutes. Serve immediately with a generous lick of butter. Done!

image

image

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Berry Muffins

  1. […] I have had a crazy year so far at work and my weekends have generally been spent passed out on the couch. But hopefully I will be able to jump back on the bandwagon! I have just trimmed my jungle of a herb garden down this morning to make a marinade which I will post up soon. In the meantime, here is another berry muffin recipe, which I think trumps my first attempt.. […]

Leave a Reply

