Bacon and capsicum mini quiches

(Recipe from the Thermovixens)

I was in a baking mood on the weekend and had some puff pastry to get rid of, so I decided to make some mini quiches to take to work for lunch during the week. This recipe takes a little bit more time to assemble than I would like, but that’s just me being lazy!

Note 1: This is a pretty flexible recipe. You can use a combination of veggies that you have lying around at home, like leek or corn, and replace the meat with ham or shredded chicken. Or even make a vegetarian version.

Note 2: I used a cup to make perfect little rounds of pastry like the recipe tells you to, but ended up wasting a lot! In future I’d cut squares of pastry out and let it stick out over the edges, which might look a bit messy but hey, people love extra pastry and you can always pull the ‘rustic look’ line out!

Note 3: The original recipe doesn’t include herbs, salt or pepper so I didn’t use any, but I think it will help the flavour (especially the pepper). Just remember that you also have a salty hit from the bacon.

Ingredients

1/2 a capsicum
100g zucchini
A small onion
200g bacon (I bought diced bacon from the supermarket deli)
Dash of olive oil
6 eggs
100g grated cheese of choice (I used parmesan)
100g cream
Dried or fresh herbs to taste
Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  • Place your capsicum, zucchini and onion in the Thermomix bowl and chop for 3 seconds/speed 4.
  • Add a dash of olive oil and saute for 3 mins/100 degrees/speed 2.Set mixture aside to cool slightly.
  • Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celsius.
  • Line your muffin tin with the puff pastry. As you I followed the original method for this step, but would definitely opt for my messier, less wasteful way in future (refer note 1!)image
  • Add your eggs, cream, s&p, herbs and cheese to the TMX bowl. Mix for 10 seconds/speed 5.
  • Divide your bacon/veggie mix equally into the pastry casings.image
  • Pour your egg mix over the filling. My cheese ended up at the bottom of the TMX bowl so I just scooped it out at the end and divided it equally on the top of each casing.image
  • Pop your tin in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes. Basically until it looks like this!image

Pop them out onto a wire rack or a plate to cool, then enjoy! For me, quiches are great but need something tangy on the side like a vinaigrette salad or tomato relish/tomato sauce to cut through the egg and cream.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

