Salted caramel brownies

(Recipe adapted from this post)

I LOVE the blend of sweet and savoury. Bacon and maple syrup, prosciutto and peaches, salted caramel, and so much more. So when I stumbled across this recipe after being asked to bring dessert to a friend’s house, I was sold!

Note: I found that the amount of salt was too much for me. And I used the full amount of sugar too! A friend said that it might have to do with the fact that I used flakes rather than ground sea salt. In any case, I’d probably halve the salt content in future.

Another note: Because I was serving this to others, I was hellbent on cutting the brownie into perfect rectangles. But when I started cutting, I realised that the almonds I had scattered so artfully on the top were now proving to be very annoying because they didn’t crack easily and resulted in me having to pull them out, and re-placing them on the top after I had cut my slices! So just keep that in mind if you’re weird like me.

Ingredients

300g rapadura sugar (I couldn’t find any, so I used plain brown sugar)
70g unsalted butter
1 tsp vanilla bean paste (didn’t have any so used vanilla essence instead)
2 tsp sea salt (refer note above)
4 large eggs
1 egg yolk
60g cocoa powder
150g self raising flour
100g each macadamia nuts and pecans or pistachios (I had 150ish grams macadamias and 50ish grams almonds)
Extra nuts for topping

Method

  • Place the sugar, butter and vanilla into your Thermomix bowl and chop for 5secs/speed 6.
  • Cook for 15 mins/Varoma temp/speed 2. Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius and line a square baking tin with paper.

image

image

  • Add salt and incorporate for 30 secs/speed 4.
  • Add eggs, yolk and cocoa powder to the TMX bowl and mix for 15 secs/speed 5.
  • Scrape down the sides of the bowl, add flour and nuts, and mix for 3 secs/speed 5.

image

  • Pour the mixture into your baking tin, stud with nuts, sprinkle a little bit of sea salt over and pop in the oven for 10 minutes.
  • Take it out, bang it firmly on your bench, then pop the tray back into the oven for another 10 minutes.

image

  • Cut into slices, and try not to eat too quickly.

image

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

