Orange and almond cake

(Recipe from this post)

I’m always up for a simple but interesting cake recipe for the Thermomix. Plus I was trying to use up some almonds in my pantry, so “Thermomix almond cake” went into my Google search engine and this baby came up. This is the first gluten-free cake I’ve made!

Note: In future I would boil the oranges the night before so I can get straight into the fun bit of whacking everything into the TMX bowl and watching magic happen.

Another note: No way could I fit two oranges in my rice basket like the recipe says, so I used a pot.

Another note: I cut a little bit off the top and bottom of my oranges to get rid of the dry knobby bits.

Final note: I almost never use the full amount of sugar stated in the recipe, but I did with this one because I wasn’t sure how bitter the peel was going to be. I think that with this cake you can’t skimp on the sweet stuff.

Ingredients

2 large oranges (I used Valencia)
250g almonds
250 g sugar
1 tsp baking powder
6 eggs

Method

  • Boil your whole oranges (skin on) in a pot for an hour. You can try placing them in your TMX rice basket but my oranges certainly didn’t fit!
  • Cut into small pieces, discarding seeds, and set aside to cool.
  • image

  • Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celsius and line a cake tin with baking paper.
  • Throw your almonds into the TMX bowl and mill for 10 secs/speed 8.
  • image

  • Add the sugar and baking powder, and mix for 3 secs/speed 4.
  • Add your eggs and mix for 6 secs/speed 4.
  • Pop in the orange segments and mix for 8 secs/speed 4, then pour your mixture into your cake tin. It will be more watery than your usual cake mixes but don’t worry!
  • image

  • Bake the mixture for 45 mins to an hour. Poke a skewer into the middle of the cake, it should come out clean.
  • image

    Leave to cool, then eat! I made this for a friend’s potluck gathering and he’s lactose intolerant, so I iced half the cake with vanilla icing for guests who fancied something a little more decadent. I do like the idea if using a chocolate hazelnut spread though. Next time!

    image

    image

    Tagged , , , ,

    One thought on “Orange and almond cake

    1. John Lim says:

      Love reading your blogs even more than using my Thermomix. Great pics as well. Keep it up (and maybe one day I’ll try something adventurous) 🙂

    Leave a Reply

