Beef Rendang

(Recipe from this blog post)

I must confess, I wasn’t really sure I wanted to attempt a rendang in the Thermomix. I use Brahim’s rendang paste normally, which is ridiculously good and so easy to make! But I had to admit, it would be pretty cool to say that I could make a good rendang from scratch.

Note 1: The recipe calls for 25g of brown sugar or palm sugar. I used brown sugar but ended up with a recipe that was way too sweet. So I might go with 15-20g palm sugar next time.

Ingredients

30g dessicated coconut

1 large red chilli, end cut off

2.5cm fresh ginger, peeled

3 cloves garlic

1 small red onion, peeled

1 tsp turmeric (I used turmeric powder, but actually think it would be good to try fresh turmeric next time)

20g oil (I used vegetable oil)

1 tsp fish sauce

4 bay leaves

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

3 star anise

5 cardamom pods, split with the flat end of a knife

ground pepper, to taste

15g palm sugar (reduced from original recipe)

150g coconut cream

500g diced beef

I don’t use star anise and cardamom pods regularly, so thought I’d take a happy snap of my dry spices/herbs.

image

Method

  • Toast the coconut in a saucepan, continuously stirring until it’s a light brown color. Then remove it off the heat immediately and set aside.

image

  • Pop your chilli, ginger, garlic, onion and turmeric in the TMX bowl, and chop for 10-15 seconds/speed 6.

image

image

  • Add the oil and saute for 3 minutes/100 degrees/speed 3.
  • Add all other ingredients except the meat and cook for 5 mins/100 degrees/speed soft.
  • Add the meat and cook for 110 mins/100 degrees/reverse/speed soft. (You’ll have to set the timer twice)

image

image

I decided to make this a day early and pop it in the fridge to let the flavours develop. As mentioned before my attempt turned out a bit too sweet, but in terms of texture and taste it was good. I might even add an extra 10g of coconut and toast it a tiny bit longer as well next time!

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “Beef Rendang

  1. Natasha says:

    I am trying out this recipe as we speak, the house smells amazing, I’ll let you know if we get a good end result

  2. Natasha says:

    It was amazing!! I took you advice re less sugar & more coconut!!kids loved it too, so it’s a winner šŸ™‚ thank you

  3. Maple says:

    Just tried this recipe and it was amazing šŸ™‚ I thought my beef turned out a bit mashed, so I think I put it to cook for too long!

    Thanks so much for sharing!

  4. Anmenninger@web.de says:

    We love rendang and adopted your way of preparing it in the Thermomix. It is so much easier: you dont’t have to stir all the time and your kitchen stays clean. Thank you very much for the recipe and your experimental and warmhaerted blog! Greetings from Germany, Andrea

Leave a Reply

