Sambal Assam

(Recipe taken from this blog post)

My absolute favourite sambal is one you can make in the Thermomix, yay! Read that post here. The only thing is that there are a couple of steps you need to take, so I wanted to see if I could find a quicker recipe anywhere.

For this sambal, I used three ingredients that I have never personally cooked with before – tamarind, belacan and rice bran oil. Suffice to say I was a little nervous! But I ended up with a really decent sambal especially given how easy it was to make. It was a little on the sweet side and my chillies didn’t have a strong kick so I will reduce the sugar and use one or two birds eye chillies in the future, but apart from that I was pretty chuffed with the result!

Ingredients

5 shallots, peeled
3 garlic cloves, peeled (snuck in one extra)
5 red chillies
50ml rice bran oil
1 teaspoon tamarind concentrate (I had tamarind puree in the fridge so I used that instead)
30g coconut or palm sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup water
1/2 teaspoon belacan (I’m not sure how this translates in weight, so I just cut a slab off)

image

Method

  • Pop the shallots, garlic and chillies in your TMX bowl and chop for 5-10 secs/speed 6. Stop halfway and scrape down the sides so your mixture is chopped evenly.
  • Eat! This is a great accompaniment for anything from fried noodles to fried rice to fried, well, anything. Just remember to store it in an airtight container in the fridge.

image

  • Add the oil, and cook for 10 mins/100 degrees/speed 1.
  • Add the tamarind, water, sugar, salt and belacan. Cook for 15 mins/100 degrees/speed soft.

image

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

