Chocolate ganache

(Recipe taken from this blog)

I had promised a friend that I would bake a cake for her husband’s surprise 30th and was in desperate need of a super easy cake that would also sound and look impressive. Given that you can’t actually sneak a bite of a birthday cake beforehand, I needed a tried and tested recipe that I could jazz up. So I went for this Guinness chocolate cake I’d made a while back, and also made some chocolate ganache to spread on top. This ganache recipe is so ridiculously easy, I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to try it!

I flipped my cake upside down as the flat surface would be easier to spread the ganache on evenly.

image

Ingredients

250g good quality dark chocolate pellets
250g double cream
1 tsp vanilla bean paste or vanilla extract
1 tsp unsalted butter

I got given a bag of goodies from Thomas Dux for my birthday including this vanilla bean paste which I hear is the queen of vanilla bean pastes!

image

Method

  • Pop all the ingredients in your TMX bowl and heat for 3 mins/50 degrees/speed 2.
  • Pour on top of cake and smooth out, allowing some ganache to spill over the sides for a rustic, drool-worthy final product.
  • Stuff your face.

image

image

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

