Lemon curd teacake

(Recipe from this blogpost)

Let me just say that this cake is PERFECT for lazy bums like me who can’t be bothered with presentation. It looked dreadful before I put it in the oven but came out looking practically shop-worthy! It tastes lovely too and it’s so easy to make.

I made the lemon curd first and set it aside to cool, while I made my cake mix. Having never made lemon curd before, I decided to follow the recipe exactly, but I reduced the sugar quantity in the cake mix.

Ingredients

Lemon Curd
60g lemon juice
60g butter
110g sugar
1 egg

Cake Mix
150g self-raising flour
60g butter
80g sugar
1 egg

Method

– To make the lemon curd, pop all of the curd ingredients into your Thermomix bowl and cook for 5 mins/100 degrees/speed 4. Remove and set aside.

– Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius.

image

– Rinse and dry your TMX bowl. Pop your cake mix ingredients in the bowl, and combine for 30 secs/speed 5.

– Line a tray with baking paper, and spread out half the cake mix evenly on the base. There didn’t seem to be a lot of cake mix so I actually didn’t spread it across the entire base.

image

– Pour the curd over the base. It will be a bit runny, but don’t worry.

– Dollop teaspoonfuls of the mixture onto the top of your curd. I wish I could tell you that the picture below captures the efforts of a three-year-old, but sadly this is the creation of a grown-ass woman.

image

– Bake for 30 mins. The self-raising flour will work its magic and you’ll end up with a rustic cake that’s full of jammy, lemony goodness! I can’t wait to make this again.

image

 

image

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Lemon curd teacake

  1. Phil says:

    Made this the other day and it was delicious, had to triple the quantities though to fill my baking pan 🙂

    Keep the recipes coming!

  2. […] curd teacake (still my favourite lemon cake recipe) here Flourless lemon cake (if flour ain’t your thang) […]

Leave a Reply

