Corn, sour cream and lime dip

(Original recipe here)

I promise I will deviate from dips after this! For a while at least. It’s just that any dip to come out of the Thermomix never takes longer than five minutes but looks and tastes so damn good.

I must admit that when I saw this recipe, I couldn’t really get my head around the sour cream and lime combination. In my head I saw the dip splitting and just looking unappetising. Don’t knock it til you’ve tried it though, right? And boy, tell you what, it was worth it! We had a barbecue that day and found that this dip goes incredibly well with some grilled fish/prawns/squid too.

Ingredients

1 bunch coriander leaves
3 spring onions/shallots roughly chopped
1 juice and rind of one lime
250 g sour cream
420g can corn kernels, drained
1 pinch cayenne powder (I didnt’t use this but you might want to for a bit of a kick up the pants)
Corn Chips to serve (I used Red Rock jalapeno and cheddar but use whatever you like)

Method

– Pop the coriander, spring onions/shallots and lime rind in your TMX bowl and chop for 2-3 seconds/speed 6.

image

– Scrape down the bowl.
– Add the lime juice, sour cream and corn, and mix for 4-5 secs/speed 3.
– Pour into a bowl, cover with cling wrap and pop in the fridge for at least an hour to let the flavours develop.
– Try not to eat too much.

image

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

