Dutch cumin coleslaw

(Recipe adapted from this version)

I had a craving for scallops last night (panfried with butter, parsley and garlic) but didn’t want to have any carbs, so I went on the hunt for a nice chunky salad to fill us up.

I thought I might be able to toast the cumin in the TMX, but after 15 mins at Varoma temperature nothing was happening so I popped my cumin seeds into a pan. Any suggestions, guys?

Also, the original recipe calls for Gruyere but it was pretty expensive at my local Coles, so I opted for Swiss instead which seemed fine.

Ingredients

1 tbsp cumin seeds

20g rice wine or white wine vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)

60g extra virgin olive oil

2 tsp Dijon mustard

Generous pinch Murray River pink salt flakes (I had these at home, but if you don’t I’m sure regular sea salt or a bit of table salt will be fine)

Pinch freshly cracked black pepper

400g green cabbage in chunks

50-60g shaved Gruyere cheese (or Swiss!)

1 spring onion, sliced on the angle (I forgot to get this so mine didn’t have any)

Method

– Toast cumin seeds in a pan until fragrant, then set aside.
– Add vinegar, EVOO, mustard, salt and pepper into your TMX bowl and blend for 5 secs/speed 10.
– Add cabbage and cumin seeds to the bowl and blend for 4 secs/speed 4.
– Serve with gruyere and spring onion. Totally easy!

20130414-190021.jpg

If you’re after something a little less exotic, the 6-second coleslaw is pretty awesome too.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

