Berry Jam Swirl Muffins

One of my girlfriends got married a couple of months ago and gave away little jars of jam as wedding favours. Now what I’m going to share wasn’t intentional, but I was totally mortified when I realised what had happened! The wedding favours were placed on a flat wine rack and guests were asked to take one as they were leaving. There were flavours of all sorts: chilli jam, strawberry, marmalade and more. I figured my other half wasn’t going to bother, so I grabbed a raspberry and candied peach to take back with me, only to realise when I got home that my other half had done exactly the same thing! I’m so sorry Jess!

20130727-180713.jpg

Anyway, the man had taken two strawberry jam jars (variety isn’t exactly his favourite word), and I thought I’d use one of them to make muffins today. I used my go-to muffin recipe, but once I popped the batter into the muffin pan I added a dollop of jam on top.

20130727-180921.jpg

I wasn’t sure if I should swirl the jam in or leave it as it was, so I decided to do a half-and-half. I ended up liking the rustic look of the ones I swirled, but the plain dollops aren’t too bad either. These are best served warm with a lick of butter, so you can freeze them then pop them in the microwave when you want a quick snack. Or, serve them fresh out of the oven. They won’t last long.

20130727-181210.jpg

Tagged ,

One thought on “Berry Jam Swirl Muffins

  1. […] Still have too much jam lying around? You could try these jam swirl muffins… […]

Leave a Reply

