Oatmeal and raisin cookies

I adapted this recipe for my Thermomix

Oatmeal raisin cookies are one of the best forms of comfort food. This is an awesome chewy version which I love, I just wish I had an old-school style cookie jar to keep them in! Although that said, i brought them to work and they were gone pretty much instantly. This recipe makes about 20 large-ish cookies, I just used two sheets of baking paper and once the first lot were done I threw the second lot in. I find the cookies cook more evenly that way.

Ingredients

115g butter, softened
125g brown sugar (use this instead of raw sugar, I think it makes the cookie chewier)
1 egg on the large side
1/2 tsp vanilla extract (I used vanilla bean paste that I had in my pantry)
95g all-purpose flour (I can’t find this in Coles, so I used 65g plain flour and 30g self-raising flour which was fine too)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
120g rolled oats
120g raisins/sultanas

Method

– Preheat your oven to 175 degrees celcius and get two sheets of baking paper ready.
– Throw your butter, sugar, egg and vanilla into your TMX bowl and cream for 1min/speed 3.
– Add flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt and knead for 40 secs/Interval speed.
– Add oats and raisins, and mix for 40 secs/Reverse/speed 1. Check and see that the oats and raisins have been folded in well, otherwise mix on the same settings for another 20 seconds.

20130811-103535.jpg

20130811-103644.jpg

Spoon your mixture out onto the baking tray, making sure you leave a fair bit of room in between each cookie as they will spread. You will see that mine started sticking to each other, so perhaps 8 cookies to a tray if you need (although I didn’t mind that mine joined, I just broke them apart when the cookies will still quite hot)

20130811-103852.jpg

– Pop them in your oven for 12-14 mins, until they turn nice and brown on the outside. The length of cooking time depends on how big your cookies are, I used about 14 mins.
– Enjoy!

20130811-104030.jpg

Spare oats and raisins in the pantry? I’ve also attempted a raisin and oat slice that was yummy and easy to make…

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal and raisin cookies

  1. […] you a jar of preserve and you don’t know what to do with it. Or, you know, if you like jam.) Oatmeal and raisin (similar in texture to these bad boys!) Peanut butter and chocolate chip cookies (one of the best […]

  2. JenZ says:

    Love these! Thanks for the recipe! Not sure why cookies never flatten but they still taste amazing! T

  3. […] Fancy an oatmeal raisin cookie recipe instead? I tried this one… […]

Leave a Reply

