Fudgy chocolate brownies

(Adapted from this recipe)

I’m quite fussy with my brownies. They NEED to be fudgy, not cake-like. Too many times I’ve bitten into a brownie (mostly store or cafe-bought) and been disappointed. So I was stoked to find this recipe, where you could do everything in the TMX, without having to wash the bowl mid-way! (Is it becoming apparent just how lazy a cook I am?)

Ingredients
380g raw sugar (original recipe calls for 440g, my quantity yielded a not-too-sweet brownie)
1 tsp baking powder
65 g cocoa powder
100 g plain flour
200 g dark chocolate, broken into pieces (I had choc bits at home)
225 g butter, roughly chopped
Large pinch of salt
4 eggs
1 tbsp vanilla extract (I only had vanilla essence at home)

Method

– Preheat oven to 160 degrees celcius and line a 20cm square tin (I crisscrossed two pieces of baking paper so the sides of the brownie would be nice and smooth)
– Pop sugar into your TMX bowl and mill for 4 secs/speed 9.
– Add baking powder, cocoa and flour, and mix for 5 secs/speed 10.
– Set flour mix aside.
– Pop chocolate into the TMX bowl and chop for 2 secs/speed 5 or until roughly chopped. Remove from bowl and set aside.
– Place butter and salt into the TMX bowl and melt for 3mins/60 degrees/speed 2.. Leave to cool to 37 degrees celcius so you don’t cook the eggs later.
– Add flour mix and eggs, and mix for 30 secs/speed 3.
– Scrape down sides of bowl, add chocolate and vanilla, and mix for 20 secs/reverse/speed 2.
– Use a spatula to give the mixture a good stir, so that the chocolate bits are properly distributed.
– Pour mixture into your baking tin, bake for 1 hour, then leave in the tin to cool slightly before cutting into small (or big) squares.

Definitely using this brownie recipe as my base recipe for future attempts. Perhaps some salted caramel or peanut butter swirled around the mix the next time…

Update: Mix it up with these recipes…

Chocolate and cream cheese brownies

Lemon and coconut blondies

20130901-083511.jpg

Tagged , ,

14 thoughts on “Fudgy chocolate brownies

  1. Sarah says:

    You might like to add the instruction to remove the chopped chocolate from the bowl, so it doesn’t end up melted with the butter.

  2. michaela says:

    Heaven!! Just had to send the kids out of the kitchen so I could have the bowl and spoon all to myself!!
    Ps. did mix in peanut butter OMG!

  3. megterry says:

    My goodness! Best brownies ever! Thank you so much for this !.. Any other MUST TRY and BEST receipi you recommend?

  4. Yolanda says:

    Divine. Thank you and well done!

  5. Raquel says:

    Thanks for this recipe. Still too much sugar for my taste. I cut the quantity to 330grms and they were still too sweet. Next time I will use 280grms and 70% cocoa chocolate. Also stirred walnuts through mine.

  6. Sara says:

    Amazing brownies! Everyone absolutely loved them. Thanks so much 🙂

  7. Vina says:

    I made these over the weekend and they are the best I’ve ever made!!! Still yummy after a few days and finding it hard not to eat it all in one sitting. I actually only 300 grams raw sugar and it was still sweet enough. Thanks for the recipe

  8. Megan says:

    Also in the oven now! Thanks for your great recipes 🙂 I still went with 400g sugar, we have a sweet tooth in my family. I’d like to start weaning us off it though.

Leave a Reply

