Jam Drops

(Recipe adapted from this post)

Sorry for the lack of posts recently! It’s been work travel, wedding travel and holiday travel over the past six weeks, and I haven’t been at home to cook much at all, let alone play with the Thermomix. But I thought I’d get back on the TMX adventures and what better day to do it than the first day of the new year! (Plus, there were a lo-oot of police sirens blaring this morning and I couldn’t sleep in).

I had been given a jar of peach and vanilla preserves for Christmas, and as yummy as it was I knew I couldn’t finish it all by the expiry date. I also recently found out that our neighbour had been mowing our lawn for us all year when we were at home one day and saw him trotting over with his lawnmower. We thought the city of Kingston was just a very helpful council! So I thought I’d say thank you to all our lovely neighbours by baking some cookies. I used this Donna Hay recipe which had been adapted for the TMX and actually made two recipes worth (it’s fine in the bowl, you just need to use the spatula a bit to incorporate the flour into the mix).

At first I cut down the sugar to equal amounts as the butter as I wasn’t sure how the amount of sugar would affect the consistency of the cookie. But I think you can definitely take out another 20g or so, especially if your preserve is sweet rather than tart.

Ingredients
180g butter, room temperature
180g caster sugar (It was also ‘pantry clean-up day so I used a combination of brown and white sugar)
1 egg
300g plain flour (I had about 40g of wholemeal flour in the cupboard so I whacked that in)
1/2 tsp baking powder
Jam (Whatever kind takes your fancy)

Method
– Cream butter and sugar in your TMX bowl for 1 min/speed 6.
– Add your egg through the opening whilst mixing on speed 3.
– Add your flour and baking powder, and mix for 30 secs/speed 3, or until a dough is formed.

20140101-105158.jpg

– Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius.
– Roll your dough into small balls (approx 1 tsp per ball), and use your finger to make an indent in each ball.
– Add a small dollop of jam to each ball, then bake for 10-11 minutes.
– add another small dollop of jam once the cookies are out of the oven, then leave to cool.
– Dunzo!

20140101-105446.jpg

Still have too much jam lying around? You could try these jam swirl muffins…

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Jam Drops

  1. […] Jam drops (if someone gave you a jar of preserve and you don’t know what to do with it. Or, you know, if you like jam.) Oatmeal and raisin (similar in texture to these bad boys!) Peanut butter and chocolate chip cookies (one of the best combinations known to mankind) Peanut cookies (may contain nuts) Lime and coconut cookies (if you’re feeling tropical) […]

Leave a Reply

