Torta Caprese al Limone / Flourless Lemon Cake

Recipe adapted from this post

The torta caprese is one of my favourite cakes of all time. So when I chanced upon this recipe while looking for inspiration in the Thermomix forums, it went to the top of my “Must. Try. Now.” list!

While I did follow the timing and the temperature of the original recipe, it did end up a little bit on the burnt side. So I’d recommend reducing the cooking time slightly, or at least testing it a bit earlier than usual. I also reduced the sugar content as I normally do, which made the cake quite tangy (just the way I like it!). It was amazingly dense and moist too!

Ingredients
180 grams white chocolate, broken into pieces (my block of chocolate was 200g so I just whacked the whole lot in there)
350 grams almonds
180 grams raw sugar (I used 140g)
rind of one lemon
juice of 1 lemon
200 grams butter, cubed
5 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract

Method

– Preheat oven to 200 degrees celcius and grease a springform pan (you can line the pan with baking paper if you like)
– Add white chocolate to the TMX bowl and grate for 10 secs/speed 8. Set aside.
– Add almonds and process for 8 secs/speed 6.Set aside with chocolate.

20140112-203030.jpg
– Add sugar and rind to the TMX bowl and blitz for 20 secs/speed 9.
– Add lemon juice, butter, eggs and vanilla extract, and mix for 20 secs/speed 7.
– Add chocolate and almonds back into the bowl, and mix for 30 secs/speed 6.
– Pour the mixture into your baking tin, and pop it into the oven. Bake for 10 mins, then reduce the temperature to 170 degrees celcius. Bake for a further 55-60 mins, or until a skewer comes out clean (I’d suggest checking the cake at 45 mins).
– Leave the cake to cool for 15 mins in the tray, then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely. Sprinkle some icing sugar on top to pretty it up and you’re done!

20140112-204735.jpg

20140112-204800.jpg

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Torta Caprese al Limone / Flourless Lemon Cake

  1. […] Lemon curd teacake (still my favourite lemon cake recipe) here Flourless lemon cake (if flour ain’t your thang) here […]

Leave a Reply

