Strawberry and lime sorbet

It’s been a scorcher here in Melbourne, and being heavily pregnant, ice cream has definitely been my friend recently! But when I headed to Dandenong Markets and saw 2 huge punnets of strawberries on sale for $3, I thought that a frozen treat would be perfect for dessert. And the Thermomix is an absolute dream when it comes to whipping up a quick sorbet.

I read somewhere that lime or lemon juice enhances the flavour of the fruit so I got some limes from the market too. The recipe below makes enough sorbet for 2 big serves, but if you’re making this for more people then you’re better off with the quantity of ingredients I used in my mango sorbet.

20140208-215523.jpg

Ingredients
75g sugar
200g strawberries
Juice from half a lime
350g ice

Method
– Blitz the sugar in your TMX bowl for 10 secs/speed 9.
– Add strawberries, lime juice and ice, turn dial up to speed 5,, then increasing slowly to speed 10.
– Blend for about 1 min. Check the consistency, and add some water or more ice if you need to thin or thicken the consistency.
– Voila, instant dessert that literally took less than 3 minutes to whip up!

20140208-215607.jpg

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Strawberry and lime sorbet

  1. […] recipe: Strawberry and Lime sorbet Well, with the weather being so hot, what else could I […]

  2. Fay Rayner says:

    Dear ChooTheFat,

    I have misplaced your recipe for Mango Sorbet.

    Would you mind sending it to me please.

    Thanking You

    Fay Rayner

    Address as above

  3. Fay Rayner says:

    Sorry I have just found the recipe for Mango Sorbet under the section called “ Cold Goodies”

    Thanks

    Fay Rayner

Leave a Reply

