Bacon jam

Oh, I can’t tell you how good it was to break out the Thermomix after more than three months! I know it’s meant to simplify cooking at home but with bub around, meals have certainly taken a backseat and the poor machine has been languishing on a shelf since March.

Anyway, I finally gathered the strength to have some friends over for lunch this long weekend. I didn’t want to over-extend myself so I decided on some nice bread, cheeses, greens and roast beef so everyone could make their own sandwiches. I bought the usual suspects – horseradish and mustard – as condiments but decided to make something extra since the husband was around to take care of bubs.

I came across this post and let’s be honest, there ain’t no condiment that’s better than one with bacon. And as soon as I saw the second version (COFFEE! CHOCOLATE! WITH BACON?!!!) I knew that this was the right post-hiatus recipe to try! Might as well go all out, right?

It’s all about cutting corners for me nowadays, so instead of cutting up the bacon as per the original recipe, I just fried up the strips and whizzed it up in the Thermomix. Quite proud of that little shortcut, I gotta say 🙂 I also added another tablespoon of worcestershire sauce after the 60-minute mark as I felt it needed a bit of an extra kick. Finally the amount of chilli used barely registers on the heat scale but I thought I’d play it safe. If you’re after a spicy relish, double or triple the amount of chilli.

Ingredients

500g bacon
200g red onion, peeled and quartered
30g garlic cloves, peeled
230g brewed coffee (I used instant coffee)
30g balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp worcestershire sauce
60g brown sugar
1 tbsp cocoa powder
1/3 tsp chili flakes

Method

– Fry the bacon until crispy. Drain on a paper towel.

20140607-220201-79321704.jpg
– Chop the onion and garlic for 3 secs/speed 5.
– Add your bacon into the TMX bowl and chop for 2 secs/speed 5.

20140608-073725-27445032.jpg
– Sauté the mixture for 12 mins/90 degrees/reverse/speed soft, with the measuring cap off.
– Add all other ingredients and cook for 60 mins/100 degrees/reverse/speed soft, with the measuring cap off so that the mixture can thicken.
– Scrape the sides of the bowl down, and cook for another 30 mins/100 degrees/reverse/speed soft.
– Pop into a jar or two, allow to cool then refrigerate the jam. The flavours will develop overnight and the mix will solidify so it will be perfect for lunch the next day and beyond.

I made an easy minestrone too and will post that up soon! It’s much better than my EDC cookbook attempt back in 2012. Plus it won’t be long before my Thermomix becomes a baby food-making machine so I’m excited about the great recipes I get to try!

20140608-073812-27492471.jpg

Tagged , , ,

10 thoughts on “Bacon jam

  1. Jennifer dreghorn says:

    I must try this

  2. Craig says:

    This may just be the reason I buy a thermomix.

  3. alison says:

    Hi, sounds like a great recipe! What quantity does it make?

    • ChooTheFat says:

      Hi there, yep it was yum! I don’t know the exact measurements, but if it helps it filled one average jam jar and two tinier caper jars (sorry I know that’s not very helpful!)

  4. Belinda says:

    Would you use this like a relish?

    • ChooTheFat says:

      Hi Belinda, yes I would. On sandwiches, on the base of croutons, perhaps with crackers and cheese too.

  5. So glad you were inspired by my Bacon Jam recipes and thanks for linking to my blog! I think this is a great idea for make-ahead brunch or lunch item as you suggested. Keep on mixing 🙂

  6. Joanna says:

    Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! 🙂

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

  7. Lyn says:

    I made this yummy bacon jam up yesterday and it has turned out too thick. Very had to spread. Is there anything I can do with this batch to make it a bit runnier. Thanks

    • ChooTheFat says:

      Hi Lyn,

      I haven’t encountered that problem before, so I would suggest adding a liquid ingredient that you felt was lacking or would like to see more flavour of. My favourite would be worcestershire sauce, so I’d add a couple more tablespoons, whisk it through and see how that goes. Again this is not something I’ve actually tried so you might need to add a combination of the liquids. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

