A Minestrone Win!

Back in 2012 I tried the EDC minestrone recipe. I still don’t know what went wrong but suffice to say it was not a good end product!

I do love minestrone though so I decided to tweak the original recipe. I added some meat and added the pasta in last. What I like about this recipe is that you can adapt it any way you like. Add whatever veggies you want (great way to clean out the crisper!), or be lazy efficient like me and buy a packet of pre-chopped vegetables. I used beef ravioli this time, but you can use plain short pasta. Or omit the meat and use a cheese tortellini for a filling veggie option. I didn’t add the beans to my attempt here as I forgot to buy some, but have left it in the ingredient list so that the recipe is as close to an authentic minestrone as possible. 

Ingredients

1 onion, peeled and quartered
2-3 garlic cloves, peeled
2 chorizo sausages, cut into chunks
400g veggies of choice
Handful herbs of choice (there was some parsley in the mix veg so I didn’t bother with any extra)
400g tin diced/crushed tomatoes
50g tomato paste (I used a 50g sachet, but don’t imagine there would be any issue adding a bit more if you wanted)
Between 700g- 100g stock of choice, depending on how much ingredients you’ve added. I used veggie stock, and approx 800g took me to just under the ‘max’ line in the TMX bowl.
1 x 400g tin of preferred beans, drained
Pasta of choice
Parmesan to taste
Salt and pepper to taste

Method

– Chop the onion, garlic and chorizo for 3 secs/speed 6.
– Sauté the mixture for 8 mins/100 degrees/reverse/speed 1.

20140609-110142-39702838.jpg

– Add everything else except for beans, pasta, parmesan and s&p, and cook for 23 mins/100 degrees/reverse/speed 1.

20140609-110347-39827654.jpg

– Add your beans in the last five minutes of cooking. Add salt and pepper to taste.
– Boil your pasta separately according to the packet instructions. Pop into a soup bowl and ladle the minestrone on top.
– Serve with lots of parmesan, and some crusty bread if you need to double up on the carbs.

20140610-091940-33580843.jpg

Tagged , ,

One thought on “A Minestrone Win!

Leave a Reply

