Baby food – apple puree

Whoa mama, bub is on solids! I started her on rice cereal the day before she turned 5 months, and then busted out the Thermomix to make my first serve of puree. I hope I will be able to maintain this habit of cooking fresh food for her, I don’t really see the point in spending way more for organic fruit and veg but I do want to keep her on home-cooked food as long as I can. I apologise in advance as there will probably be quite a few puree posts coming up, but I’ll try and find some time to do some other recipes too!

Ingredient

5 medium-large red apples (this makes approx. 13 x 2 tbsp serves. I used pink lady, but Fuji or Royal Gala should work too)

Method

– Peel and core apples, cut into quarters. An apple corer and slicer helps massively here!
– Pop into TMX bowl.

20140806-090736-32856723.jpg
– Chop for 10 secs/speed 5. Scrape down the sides.

20140806-090833-32913629.jpg
– Cook for 8 mins/90 degrees/speed 4.
– Scrape down the sides again, and blend for 5-10 secs/speed 8 until desired consistency is achieved.

20140806-091036-33036110.jpg

I’m going to go through the basic single-ingredient purees over the next few weeks to get her used to the different tastes and textures, but I would LOVE to hear about some yummy mixed-ingredient purees in the comments!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

