Rosemary and cheese waffle batter 

I’m absolutely obsessed with waffles. I’d go into more detail about how obsessed I am but then we’d never get to a recipe! I recently bought a waffle iron and although I’m sure that it’s relatively easy to hand-mix the batter, it’s pretty great being able to chuck all the ingredients into the Thermomix and just pressing a couple of buttons. 

Instead of breaking the waffle iron in with a plain batter, I decided to make some savoury waffles to go with my crunchy cajun chicken. I used a standard waffle recipe (here), and added some cheddar chunks plus a few sprigs’ worth of rosemary leaves. 

Ingredients

300g plain flour

2 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

500g milk

100g butter

75g sugar

250g cheddar cheese, broken into small chunks 

Rosemary leaves from 2-3 medium sprigs

Method

Throw everything into the Thermomix bowl and blend for 1min/speed 10. Yep, that’s it. 

  

I’m not sure whether all waffle irons are a similar size so don’t quote me on the quantity here, but I used one standard ladle’s worth of batter per waffle, and made 5 waffles with this recipe. The colour wasn’t quite as even as I would like despite following the timing instructions, I’m guessing it’s the cheese? But it tasted pretty scrummy!   

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

