Super easy peanut butter

I grew up on Kraft peanut butter. I tried a couple of healthy versions recently but perhaps my tastebuds are conditioned to eating artificial goodness, because I just couldn’t get into the all-natural stuff. But I’m trying my best to give Arianna healthy options where I can, so this morning when I woke up and decided to make bliss balls as a snack for us, I thought I’d also try making my own peanut butter. And when I came across this recipe I got a little bit excited! You literally just need peanuts or your preferred nuts. I used unsalted peanuts. Because these were looking a bit blah in the packet, I toasted them slightly in a frying pan, but you can leave this step out if you don’t feel like it.  

 Once the peanuts had gotten some colour on them, I tipped the lot into the Thermomix jug and blended it for 10 secs/speed 4. This gets you to crushed-nut phase. Then I scraped the sides down, before continuing to blend on speed 4 for about a minute, slowly increasing to speed 7. I stopped when the consistency looked like this: 

 When I tipped the contents out, I got around a chinese soup bowl full of peanut butter which was perfect for making a smoothie and my bliss balls (recipe to come!) 

 

I must say that due to the lack of anything extra, this literally tastes like a peanut paste and is also quite dry. I wouldn’t put this on toast without adding some salt, and perhaps a touch of oil to make it a bit smoother. Or honey… But as a base for another recipe it is absolutely fine, And I must admit I was quite chuffed knowing how healthy it was! 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

