Basil Pesto

(Recipe taken from Everyday Cooking for Every Family)

Basil’s in season at the moment, and when I saw a massive bunch at South Melbourne markets for $1.99 I couldn’t resist. This dip is very similar to the Wattle Valley chunky dips you can get at the supermarket, but oh-so-much-better because you MADE IT YOURSELF.

Ingredients

1 large clove garlic (because I was making this for a dinner party of 12 I thought I’d better not overdo it with the garlic and I actually managed to stick to the recommended amount. SHOCKING.)

40g fresh basil leaves (approx 1 big bunch)

Small handful fresh parsley (I don’t use parsley for anything else and didn’t want to waste a big bunch so I omitted this)

160g unsalted cashews (I had salted nuts at home and these were fine)

80g olive oil

2 tbsp white vinegar

4 tbsp Parmesan Chesse (grated first in the Thermomix)

Pre-Method

  • I cut my block of parmesan into cubes and popped it into the bowl, then grated the cheese for about 10 seconds on speed 8.

Method

  • Place everything into the bowl and set the dial to closed lid position.
  • Pulse with the turbo button a couple of times for 5-10 seconds each until the desired consistency is achieved (about 4 pulses)
  • Done-zo.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Basil Pesto

  1. Nice idea to use cashews… and I’ll have to try this recipe as I’ve never done it with vinegar before either! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

Leave a comment